Vladivostok, Primorsky Stage, Chamber Hall

Le quattro stagioni by Vivaldi

Alexei Maslov (violin)
Elizaveta Sushchenko (cello)
Pavel Smelkov (harpsichord)
Chamber Orchestra of the Primorsky Stage of the Mariinsky Theatre

Antonio Vivaldi
Le quattro stagioni (The Four Seasons), four violin concertos, Op. 8

Reader: Dmitry Nelasov
Sand animation: Maxim Shteinberg
Screenwriter: Pavel Smelkov

About the Concert

The Four Seasons are a group of four violin concerti opening The Contest between Harmony and Invention collection by Antonio Vivaldi. A clergyman and an owner of a fiery head of hair (for which he was nicknamed “The Red Priest”), Vivaldi amazed his contemporaries with ebullient energy. Son of a violinist of Saint Mark’s Basilica, he headed the Venetian Conservatory. At that time it was a shelter for orphans who were taught singing and playing musical instruments. With Vivaldi, the fame of the conservatoire orchestra reached unprecedented heights. His performances gathered crowds of public. Travelling around his native Italy, the composer eagerly absorbed impressions of the nature and life of the common people, and then he conceived the idea to write a musical piece based on those impressions, so that his pupils could play it. He accompanied this cycle with verses intended to help the listeners feel the atmosphere. However, such is the brightness of Vivaldi’s soundscapes that the sensitive ear will hear the music as the author saw it, without the need for additional comment.

Nadezhda Koulygina

Age category 6+

© 2016 – 2024
The Mariinsky Theatre
Primorsky Stage Information Service
+7 423 240 60 60
Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.

The highlighting of performances by age represents recommendations.

This highlighting is being used in accordance with Federal Law N436-FZ dated 29 December 2010 (edition dated 1 May 2019) "On the protection of children from information that may be harmful to their health"