Shizuo Z Kuwahara


Upcoming performances:
7 December 2019
Conductor

The First Prize winner of the prestigious Georg Solti International Conductors’ Competition in Frankfurt, Germany, Shizuo Z Kuwahara is a frequent guest conductor of the Mariinsky Theatre and Osaka Symphony. His conducting career ascended rapidly after winning the Solti Competition, leading to conducting invitations from Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchesters Saarbrücken, Polish Chamber Orchestra, Nice Philharmonic, and Frankfurt Museumsorchester. With the invitation from Valery Gergiev, Kuwahara made a sensational debut with the Primorsky Stage of the Mariinsky Theatre with the production of Verdi’s La traviata, which resulted in a long term relationship with the company for the future seasons. In the season 2019/20 Shizuo became a principal guest conductor of the Primorsky Stage of the Mariinsky Theatre.

As a Japanese-American residing in Amsterdam, Netherlands, Mr Kuwahara has led performances throughout North & South America, Europe, and Asia, including performances with Frankfurt Museum Orchestra, Baltimore Symphony, Buffalo Philharmonic, Seattle Symphony, Orquesta Sinfonica de Salta, Japan Philharmonic, Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, Tokyo Kosei Wind Ensemble, Yomiuri Nippon Symphony Orchestra, Osaka Symphony, Century Orchestra Osaka, Hiroshima Symphony, Nagoya Philharmonic, Orchestra Ensemble Kanazawa, Polish Chamber Philharmonic, Denmark National Symphony Orchestra, Philharmonia Slaska, Sinfonieorchester den Nationalen Philharmonischen Gesellshaft der Uklaine Kiew, German Radio Symphony Orchestra, Wrocław Philharmonic and L’Orchestre Pasdeloup. He has also acted as musical assistant and cover conductor with the Boston Symphony Orchestra, Philadelphia Orchestra, Baltimore Symphony and Orchestra de Paris.

Mr Kuwahara was with the Philadelphia Orchestra as a League of American Orchestras conducting fellow, covering and leading numerous concerts as an apprentice to Christoph Eschenbach. Other past positions include assistant conductor to Seiji Ozawa at the Saito Kinen Festival in summer of 2008, conducting the Ozawa Jyuku Orchestra. He spent his summer of 2006 in Sapporo, Japan serving as an assistant conductor to Valery Gergiev at the Pacific Music Festival. At the beginning of his career, Mr. Kuwahara served as Professor of Music and Director of Orchestral Activities at the College of William & Mary and American University, as well as an associate conductor of the Virginia Symphony. He has recently concluded 7 years tenure as the music director of Symphony Orchestra Augusta.

In addition to winning the first prize at the Solti Competition, he received additional prizes from the Malko International Conducting Competition, Tokyo International Music Competition for Conducting, the Prokofiev International Conducting Competition in St Petersburg, Russia and Fitelberg International Competition in Katowice, Poland. He is also a recipient of Georg Solti Foundation U.S. Career Assistance Award, the Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowship for New Americans, Georgia Trend 2011 40 Under 40 - Georgia’s Best & Brightest, Augusta Region’s Top Ten in Ten Young Professionals, 2011 Greater Augusta Arts Council Art Professional Award, and 2011 S&R Washington Award. The City of Yokkaichi, Japan recently appointed him as an Ambassador of Tourism, a city where Mr. Kuwahara grew up.

Born in Tokyo, Mr Kuwahara received Master’s Degree studied conducting at Yale University, where he was awarded the Charles Ives Full Scholarship and awarded the Eleazar de Carvalho Prize. At the Eastman School of Music, he received Bachelor’s Degree and Arts Leadership Program Certificate, with honorable recognition of Performer's Certificate and the George Eastman Scholarship. In addition to studying with David Effron and Lawrence Leighton Smith at these conservatories, Mr. Kuwahara has also studied with Leonard Slatkin, David Zinman, Timothy Muffitt and Michael Jinbo at various conducting institutions, including Aspen, the National Conducting Institute, the Pierre Monteux School, and the Chautauqua Music Institute.

© 2016 – 2019
The Mariinsky Theatre
Primorsky Stage Information Service
+7 423 240 60 60
tickets-prim@mariinsky.ru
Any use or copying of site materials, design elements or layout is forbidden without the permission of the rightholder.
user_nameExit

Шизуо Кувахара


Ближайшие выступления:
7 декабря 2019

Дирижёр

Победитель престижного Международного конкурса дирижёров им. Георга Шолти во Франкфурте (Германия), Шизуо Кувахара часто выступает в качестве приглашённого дирижёра в Мариинском театре и Симфоническом оркестре Осаки. Его дирижёрская карьера стремительно пошла вверх после победы в конкурсе им. Шолти, за которой последовали приглашения от Оркестра радио и телевидения Саарбрюккена, Польского камерного оркестра, Филармонического оркестра Ниццы и Оркестра Франкфуртского музея. В 2018 году по приглашению Валерия Гергиева Шизуо с большим успехом дебютировал на Приморской сцене Мариинского театра в «Травиате» Верди. А в сезоне 2019/20 стал главным приглашённым дирижёром Приморской сцены Мариинского театра.

Шизуо Кувахара объездил с гастролями всю Северную и Южную Америку, Европу и Азию, в ходе которых руководил выступлениями таких коллективов, как оркестр Франкфуртского музея, Балтиморский симфонический оркестр, Филармонический оркестр Буффало, Сиэтлский симфонический оркестр, Симфонический оркестр Сальты, Японский филармонический оркестр, Токийский симфонический оркестр, Токийский духовой ансамбль Kosei, Симфонический оркестр Yomiuri Nippon, Симфонический оркестр Осаки, Осакский оркестр Century, Симфонический оркестр Хиросимы, Филармонический оркестр Нагои, Оркестр-ансамбль Канадзавы, Польский камерный филармонический оркестр, Симфонический оркестр Датского радио, Силезская филармония, Симфонический оркестр Национальной филармонии Украины (Киев), Симфонический оркестр Немецкого радио, Вроцлавский филармонический оркестр и Оркестр Падлу. Также выступал в качестве музыкального ассистента и дублирующего дирижёра с Бостонским симфоническим оркестром, Оркестром Филадельфии, Балтиморским симфоническим оркестром и Парижским оркестром.

Кувахара работал с Оркестром Филадельфии в качестве стипендиата Лиги американских оркестров, выступая дублирующим и ведущим дирижёром на многочисленных концертах стажируясь под руководством Кристофа Эшенбаха. В 2006 году работал ассистентом дирижёра с Валерием Гергиевым в Саппоро (Япония) на Международном музыкальном фестивале стран Азиатско-Тихоокеанского региона. В 2008 году являлся ассистентом дирижёра Сэйдзи Одзавы на музыкальном фестивале «Сайто Кинен», где он управлял Оркестром музыкальной академии Сэйдзи Одзавы. В начале своей карьеры Кувахара занимал должность профессора музыки и директора оркестровой деятельности в Колледже Вильгельма и Марии и Американском университете, а также был помощником дирижёра Симфонического оркестра Вирджинии. До недавнего времени в течение семи лет занимал пост музыкального руководителя Симфонического оркестра Огасты.

Помимо первой премии на конкурсе Шолти, также является лауреатом Международного конкурса дирижёров им. Н.А. Малько, Токийского международного музыкального конкурса дирижёров, Международного конкурса дирижёров им. С.С. Прокофьева в Санкт-Петербурге (Россия) и Международного конкурса дирижёров им. Гжегожа Фительберга в Катовице (Польша). Кроме того, является лауреатом премии Фонда Георга Шолти, премии журнала «Джорджия Тренд» за 2011 год 40 Under 40 – Georgia’s Best & Brightest, премии «Десять лучших молодых профессионалов региона Огасты», Премии Совета искусств Большой Огасты для профессионалов в искусстве (2011) и премии S&R Вашингтон за 2011 год. Город Йоккаити (Япония), в котором вырос Кувахара, недавно назначил его Послом в области туризма.

Шизуо Кувахара родился в Токио. Изучал дирижирование и получил степень магистра в Йельском университете, где ему была присуждена полная стипендия им. Чарльза Айвза, а также премия им. Элеазара де Карвалью. В Истменской школе музыки получил степень бакалавра, а также почётный диплом и стипендию им. Джорджа Истмена. Помимо обучения в этих консерваториях у Дэвида Эфрона и Лоуренса Лейтона Смита, также совершенствовался под руководством Леонарда Слаткина, Дэвида Цинмана, Тимоти Маффита и Майкла Джинбо в Аспене, Национальном институте дирижирования, Школе Пьера Монтё и Институте музыки Шатокуа.

© 2016 – 2019
Мариинский театр
Справочная служба Приморской сцены
+7 423 240 60 60
tickets-prim@mariinsky.ru
Любое использование либо копирование материалов сайта, элементов дизайна и оформления запрещено без разрешения правообладателя.
user_nameВыход